OFFICERS

President J. David Richardson, MD, FACS Louisville, KY Immediate Past-President Andrew L. Warshaw, MD, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon) Boston, MA President-Elect Courtney M. Townsend, Jr., MD, FACS Galveston, TX First Vice-President Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS Seattle, WA First Vice-President-Elect Hilary A. Sanfey, MD, FACS Springfield, IL Second Vice-President Walter J. Pories, MD, FACS Greenville, NC Second Vice-President-Elect Mary C. McCarthy, MD, FACS Dayton, OH Secretary Edward E. Cornwell III, MD, FACS, FCCM Washington, DC Treasurer William G. Cioffi, Jr., MD, FACS Providence, RI **Executive Director** David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Chicago, IL Chief Financial Officer Gay L. Vincent, CPA Chicago, IL

BOARD OF REGENTS

Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS New York, NY Vice-Chair Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS Boston, MA John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester, MN James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS Alexandria, VA Margaret M. Dunn, MD, FACS Fairborn, OH Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS Saint Louis, MO James K. Elsey, MD, FACS Atlanta, GA Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS Los Angeles, CA Gerald M. Fried, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS Omaha, NE B.J. Hancock, MD, FACS, FRCSC Winnipeg, MB Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, FACS Hartford, CT L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Mark A. Malangoni, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, FACS Tucson, AZ Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS Galveston, TX Marshall Z. Schwartz, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS Washington, DC Howard M. Snyder III, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Wichita Falls, TX Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS Weston, FL

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Chair Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS New York, NY *Vice-Chair* Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS Sacramento, CA *Secretary* Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS Albany, NY



American College of Surgeons

Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

100+years

February 25, 2016

The Honorable Pamela Althoff Illinois State Senate 309 L Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Senator Althoff and Representative Moeller:

On behalf of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), I am writing to you to state our opposition to S. 2899/H. 6166, legislation which would significantly expand the scope of practice of optometry into the practice of surgery. The ACS has a long history of addressing matters relating to patient care and safety. While optometrists play a critical role in the treatment of Illinoisans, we are concerned that S.2899/H.6166 as currently written permits optometrists to perform surgery, which is beyond their education and training.

The ACS outlines the definition of surgery in the *Statement on surgery using lasers*, *pulsed light, radiofrequency devices or other techniques*

(http://www.facs.org/fellows info/statements/st-11.html). According to the statement "surgery is performed for the purpose of structurally altering the human body by the incision or destruction of tissues and is a part of the practice of medicine. Surgery is also the diagnostic or therapeutic treatment of conditions or disease process by any instruments causing localized alteration or transposition of live human tissue which include lasers, ultrasound, ionizing radiation, scalpels, probes, and needles." The ACS statement also notes that any procedure that can damage the eye (cornea or retina) should only be performed by a licensed physician.

In the interest of patient safety and maintaining the highest standards of surgical care, the American College of Surgeons believes that the types of procedures proposed in S.2899/H.6166 should only be performed by a licensed Medical Doctor (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) who meet appropriate education, training and professional standards. As such, the ACS strongly urges you to amend S.2899/H.6166 so that provisions permitting optometrists to perform surgery and administer injections are removed from the bill.

Sincerely,

David B. Hzt

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Executive Director

Chicago Headquarters: 633 N. Saint Clair Street

Chicago, IL 60611-3211 Voice: 312-202-5000

Fax: 312-202-5001 E-mail: postmaster@facs.org

Washington Office: 20 F Street, NW Suite 1000 Washington, DC 20001 Voice: 202-337-2701 Fax: 202-337-4271 E-mail: ahp@facs.org www.facs.org

The Honorable Anna Moeller Illinois State House 249-E Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706